Skip Navigation LinksNews > News
09/09/2013 12:00
Jury President Jan Hronek thanks Swiss Volleyball Federation
2013 CEV Volleyball European Championship - Women

Zurich, Switzerland, September 9, 2013. CEV Vice President and Jury President Jan Hronek thanked Christoph Stern, President of the Swiss Volleyball Federation, for the perfect organization of the 2013 CEV Volleyball European Championship – Women. Hronek presented Christoph Stern the CEV plate of honor.

Picture (from left to right): VONOC Executive Vice President Stav Jacobi, CEV Vice President and EuroVolley Jury President Jan Hronek, VONOC First Executive Vice President and President of the Swiss Volleyball Federation Christoph Stern

The participation at 2013 CEV Volleyball European Championship – Women was the first Swiss appearance on top international indoor volleyball level since 42 years. Jury President Jan Hronek was honored to thank Christoph Stern, President of Swiss Volley and one of the fathers of the high-class event in Zurich, for his strenuous efforts. “CEV appreciates your role as arduous worker for a bright volleyball future in Switzerland and Europe”, said Hronek. “I would like to thank you and your organizing committee for the outstanding organization of EuroVolley 2013 in Switzerland. CEV is looking forward to come back to Switzerland for the 2016 Beach Volleyball European Championship.”

VONOC Executive Vice President Stav Jacobi took advantage of the moment to congratulate Christoph Stern for his birthday. “We are very happy to offer you a custom-made shirt of the Swiss national team. We hope the number 13 will bring you luck and satisfaction for your future tasks in volleyball. Happy birthday Christoph!”

After a rest and travel day on Monday, EuroVolley 2013 resumes on Tuesday with eight teams battling for the four remaining quarterfinal spots.

Playoff round:

Turkey v Belarus
Croatia v The Netherlands
Italy v Poland
Czech Republic v France


Germany v winner Croatia v The Netherlands
Russia v winner Turkey v Belarus
Belgium v winner Czech Republic v France
Serbia v winner Italy v Poland

The Preliminary Phase of the 2013 CEV Volleyball European Championship – Women was split into four pools of four teams with the top three from each pool advancing to the next competition stage. The first ranked teams of each pool are directly qualified for the quarterfinals, while the second and third ranked teams will fight for the last four quarterfinal tickets.

CEV Volleyball European Championship – Women
Records of the last five editions

2011 in Italy/Serbia: Serbia (gold), Germany (silver), Turkey (bronze)
2009 in Poland: Italy (gold), the Netherlands (silver), Poland (bronze)
2007 in Belgium/Luxembourg: Italy (gold), Serbia (silver), Russia (bronze)
2005 in Croatia: Poland (gold), Italy (silver), Russia (bronze)
2003 in Turkey: Poland (gold), Turkey (silver), Germany (bronze)

CEV Volleyball European Championship – Women
All-time medal table

1. Russia (17 gold / 4 silver / 3 bronze), 2. Poland (2/4/5), 3. Germany (2/5/3), 4. Italy (2/2/2), 5. The Czech Republic (1/4/4), 6. The Netherlands (1/2/1), 7. Bulgaria (1/0/2), 8. Serbia (1/1/1), 9. Croatia (0/3/0), 10. Hungary (0/1/3), 11. Turkey (0/1/1), 12. Romania (0/0/1). 12. Ukraine (0/0/1).

World Ranking – Women (participating teams)

4. Italy, 6. Russia, 7. Serbia, 9. Germany, 11. Turkey, 13. Poland, 18. The Netherlands, 22. The Czech Republic, 31. Croatia, 31. Bulgaria, 36. Azerbaijan, 39. Belgium, 39. Belarus, 42. Spain, 42. France, 109. Switzerland.

For further information visit the official website or click here for a detailed match schedule of the playoff round.

News nr. 369 of 647
14/09/2013 11:00:00
Europe’s Volleyball family overwhelmed with pride at hosting IOC President
19/08/2013 23:30:00
CEV President delighted to visit Azerbaijan
Advanced Search
Open the calendar popup.
Open the calendar popup.
Search for:

There are no matches appointed for today

Title and navigation
<<<May 2018>>>
May 2018