Skip Navigation Links > President

The President is elected directly by the General Assembly among candidates standing for the Board of Administration, provided that such candidates have been formally nominated for the Presidency by their respective National Federations.
Once elected, the President shall become a full member of the Board of Administration.

Matters within his/her power include:

  • Governance of the CEV Bodies and CEV Head Office
  • Representing CEV
  • Ensuring a fruitful interaction and collaboration with FIVB and all other Continental Confederations and National Federations;
  • Ensuring the well-being of CEV and European Volleyball through a constant contact with all CEV institutional organs, National Federations and any other international sport organization;
  • Report to the Executive Committee.

Born in 1944 in Bettembourg, Luxembourg, André Meyer assumed the Presidency of the European Volleyball Confederation back in 2001 as the General Assembly was held in Ostrava, Czech Republic. After chairing Luxembourg’s Volleyball Federation for 17 years and the European Refereeing Commission for about a decade, Mr. Meyer was sworn in to lead the European Volleyball family thereby significantly contributing to the massive development of this sport in the “Old Continent”. After his re-election in 2005, Mr. Meyer continued his work for the CEV combining his presidential function with more and more tasks assigned by the FIVB, where – as of 2013 – he is the 2nd Executive Vice President, President of the Finance Commission and Executive Vice President in charge of the Rules of the Game and Refereeing Commissions. André Meyer is a former Volleyball player and international referee who officiated at a total of 178 international matches, including games of the European Cups, the European Championships and World Championships. On September 17, 2011, Mr. Meyer was re-elected for a third consecutive mandate – a real premiere in the history of the European Volleyball Confederation – to chair Europe’s Volleyball family for another four years up to 2015.

  • 1973-1978 Giancarlo Giannozzi (ITA)
  • 1978-1979 Vahit Colakoglu (TUR) – interim
  • 1979-1983 Georges Boudry (FRA)
  • 1983-1987 Dusan Prielozny (TCH)
  • 1987-1993 Piet de Bruin (NED)
  • 1993-1995 Michalis Mastrandreas (GRE)
  • 1995-2001 Rolf Andresen (GER)
  • 2001- now André Meyer (LUX)

Institutional Life

CEV President says Baku Masters is perfect rehearsal ahead of European Games
2014 CEV Beach Volleyball European Championship - Baku Masters Baku, Azerbaijan, September 13, 2014. CEV President André Meyer is paying a visit to Baku as Azerbaijan’s capital is currently hosting the Baku Masters, fifth and last stop of this year’s CEV Beach Volleyball European Championship.
Information on European multi-sport events now available on CEV website
News from the CEV Luxembourg, September 8, 2014. On Monday an extra section was added to the CEV website with a focus on a series of multi-sport events which include Volleyball and/or Beach Volleyball on their programme. All of these events are placed under the authority
Latvia’s Head of State hosts CEV President in Riga
News from the CEV Riga, Latvia, August 30, 2014. Right by the time the first major international tournament is being held in a country that has become a sort of Beach Volleyball “Mecca”, CEV President André Meyer is currently paying a visit to Latvia.
CEV President attends European Team Sports Association meeting
News from the CEV Zurich, Switzerland, August 27, 2014. On his way back from Estonia where he attended the final stage of the 2014 CEV U19 Volleyball European Championship – Women, CEV President André Meyer stopped in Zurich to join the annual meeting of
CEV President thanks organizers and officials of Women’s U19 Euro Champs
2014 CEV U19 Volleyball European Championship – Women Tartu, Estonia, August 24, 2014. A few hours before the much-awaited finals of the 2014 CEV U19 Volleyball European Championship – Women getting underway in Tartu’s A. Le Coq Sports Hall, CEV President André Meyer expressed his warm